Tuesday, May 26, 2015

Four Lok Sabha MPs selected for Sansad Ratna 2015 Awards

Four Lok Sabha MPs selected for Sansad Ratna 2015 Awards

Four Lok Sabha MPs are selected for the Sansad Ratna 2015 Awards for outstanding performance in the 16th Lok Sabha till the end of the budget session.

“The MPs were selected through a rigorous process by a high powered Committee of Judges. Prime Point Foundation, a Chennai based NGO,  has been honouring top performing Lok Sabha Members every year since 2009”  said the Foundation’s Chairman  K Srinivasan.

The Awards will be presented on 11th July 2015 at Chennai.

The Committee of Judges, constituted by Prime Point Foundation , included  Shri Anand Rao Adsul (Maharashtra), Shri Hansraj G Ahir (Maharashtra) and Shri Arjun Ram Meghwal (Rajasthan) – all Parliamentarians who were themselves   toppers in the 15th Lok Sabha Sansad Ratna Awards.

They were toppers each under the category of Questions, Private Members Bills and Debates.  They will also be inducted into ‘Sansad Ratna – Hall of Fame’ during the Award ceremony on 11th July 2015..

The Committee of Judges selected the MPs for this year’s award based on their performance in the House, attendance in the House and Standing Committees and utilization of MPLad funds. The selection was based on an evaluation of the data provided by PRS India an Lok Sabha Secretariat.

Under the General category, three ‘Sansad Ratna Awards 2015’ are given to the toppers in three categories, viz. debates, private members bills and questions. 

One  topper among the First time MPs for the cumulative overall tally gets the ‘Sansad Navodit Ratna 2015’ Award.

P P Chaudhary (BJP MP from Rajasthan) bags two awards,  one for being the topper in ‘Debates category’ and another for overall tally among the First time MPs. He participated in 176 Debates and secured a total tally of 384 points.  He is also the topper among all the MPs in the Lok Sabha for overall tally.

Shri Shrirang Appa Barne (Shiv Sena MP from Maharashtra) bags an Award by topping under ‘Questions Category’ with 314 Questions to his credit with a total tally of 355 points. He secured the No 2 position among all MPs in the overall tally.

Shri Nishikant Dubey (BJP MP from Jharkhand) bags the Award for being a topper in the Private Members Bills category.  He introduced 11 Private Members bills and secured an overall tally of 328 points.  He secured the No 3 position among all MPs in the overall tally.

Under the Women’s  Category, ‘Sansad Mahila Ratna Award 2015’ has been bagged by Ms Supriya Sule (NCP MP from Maharashtra).  She topped among women MPs securing an overall cumulative tally of 321 points. She secured the 5th position among all MPs in the Lok Sabha for overall tally, besides being No 1 among women MPs. 


  1. There should be more publicity to this selection in all print and electronic media. Those MPs who burn their midnight oil and study the cases and contribute should be known to the public as against those who make a mockery of our DEMOCRACY. Not only the top and bottom seats all should be evaluated and the scores published to keep up our hard-earned freedom and democracy.


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...