Monday, December 31, 2018

10th edition of Sansad Ratna Awards on 19th Jan 2019 at Chennai

The 10th Edition of the Sansad Ratna Awards is scheduled to be held on Saturday, January 19th 2019 at 3.00 pm at Raj Bhavan, Chennai.

Top performing Parliamentarians of the 16th Lok Sabha and the Rajya Sabha will be honoured during the event. The outstanding ‘Departmentally Related Parliamentary Standing Committee’ will also be honoured at the event. The Hon’ble Governor of Tamil Nadu, Shri Banwarilal Purohit will present the awards to the Members of Parliament.  The awardees are nominated by a Jury Committee of eminent Parliamentarians.

Looking Back

The Sansad Ratna Awards has come a long way from its first edition held in May 2010 in a modest function at the Thakkar Bapa Vidyalaya, Chennai before a limited audience, through the past years in the prestigious premises of the Indian Institute of Technology, Madras (IITM) to the latest edition to be held in the premises of Raj Bhavan, Chennai.

It has braved several challenges over the years, especially lack of visibility and publicity and today, it stands recognised and appreciated for its credibility and positive focus of recognising outstanding performers among our country’s lawmakers and keepers.

The Sansad Ratna Awards is an initiative of Prime Point Foundation and eMagazine, PreSense, motivated by the suggestion of late Dr A.P.J. Abdul Kalam, former President of India, who himself launched the first event via a tele-conference. 

This is the only award presented to top performing Parliamentarians in India on behalf of the ‘civil society’.

Entry to the function is only by invitation due to space constraints. However, the entire programme is being webcast live on that day from


Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...