Tuesday, February 22, 2022

Sansad Ratna Awards 2022 announced - Press Release

 Sansad Ratna Awards 2022 announced

 Press Release

The Sansad Ratna Awardees for 2022 Announced

11 MPs, Four Parliamentary Committees and Two Veterans to be  Honoured


New Delhi, 22nd Feb 2022: The Jury Committee  of eminent Parliamentarians and civil society, chaired by Shri Arjun Ram Meghwal (Hon’ble MoS, Parliamentary Affairs) and           Co-Chaired by Shri T S Krishnamurthy (Former Chief Election Commissioner of India) has nominated  eight  and  three MPs respectively from both Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha   for the Sansad Ratna Awards 2022.  In addition,  four  Standing Committees and two veteran leaders have also been nominated  for special awards.

Lok Sabha

Smt. Supriya Sule (NCP, Maharashtra), Shri N K Premachandran (RSP, Kerala) and Shri Shrirang Appa Barne (Shiv Sena, Maharashtra) have been nominated for ‘Sansad Vishisht Ratna’ Award for their sustained outstanding performance. 

 Shri Bidyut Baran Mahato (BJP, Jharkhand), Shri Kuldeep Rai Sharma (INC, Andaman & Nicobar Islands), Dr Heena Vijayakumar Gavit (BJP, Maharashtra), Saugata Roy (AITMC, West Bengal), Shri Sudhir Gupta (BJP, Madhya Pradesh) have been nominated for ‘Sansad Ratna Awards 2022’ for their performance in the 17th Lok Sabha  under various categories. 

According to K. Srinivasan, Founder Chairman of Prime Point Foundation and Sansad Ratna Awards Committee the nominations  have been made based on the cumulative  performance of the members from the beginning of 17th Lok Sabha till the end of Winter Session 2021.   He said the nomination  was based on the data provided by PRS India.

Rajya Sabha

Dr.  Amar Patnaik (BJD, Odisha) and  Dr.  Fauzia Tahseen Ahmed Khan (NCP, Maharashtra have been nominated for their performance in Rajya Sabha in 2021 under ‘Sitting Members’ category’.  Shri K K Ragesh (CPIM, Kerala) is nominated  for the Award under the ‘Retired Members in 2021’ category for his outstanding performance during his full term in Rajya Sabha. 

Standing Committees

The Departmentally Related Standing Committees (DRSC) in Parliament are performing exceedingly well and silently and contribute a lot.  Prime Point Foundation and eMagazine PreSense have been honouring the Standing committees since the last  five years, based on the subjects selected, sittings and reports presented.   The Jury Committee has selected  three Lok Sabha Committees and one Rajya Sabha Committee for the Award.  (1) Agriculture committee (Chairman: Shri P C Gaddi Goudar, BJP, Karnataka), (2) Finance Committee (Chairman – Shri Jayant Sinha, BJP, Jharkhand), (3) Labour Committee (Chairman – Shri Bhartruhari Mahtab, BJD, Odisha) and (4) Education Committee (Chairman – Dr Vinay Sahasrabuddhe, BJP, Maharashtra) are nominated for Awards for their outstanding cumulative performance from the beginning of the 17th Lok Sabha till the end of Winter Session 2021.  Agriculture, Finance and Labour are Lok Sabha Committees and Education is the Rajya Sabha Committee.

Lifetime Achievement Award

From this year, Prime Point Foundation and PreSense will be introducing a new category to honour the veteran leaders for their contribution to Indian politics and people of India. The Jury Committee has nominated Dr HV Hande (Age 94 - Senior BJP leader, Tamil Nadu) and Dr  M.  Veerappa Moily (Age 82 - Senior Congress leader, Karnataka) for this award.

About Sansad Ratna Award

Sansad Ratna Award was instituted on the suggestion of Dr APJ Abdul Kalam to honour the top performing Parliamentarians.  The first award function was held in 2010 at Chennai and Dr Abdul Kalam himself launched the initiative.  Till now, 75 top performing Parliamentarians have been honoured.  12th Edition of Award function will be held on Saturday, 26th March 2022 at Delhi.


Press Released issued by Priyadharshni Rahul, President of Sansad Ratna Awards Committee.

www.sansadratna.in |  sansadratna@gmail.com







Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...