Wednesday, August 27, 2014

Performance of 16th Lok Sabha till the end of Second Session (4th June 2014 to 14th August 2014)

The new 16th Lok Sabha commenced its business on 4th June 2014.  Till the end of Second Session (14th August 2014), the Lok Sabha had 33 sittings.

Business done

This 16th Lok Sabha witnessed one of the most productive sessions in the past one decade.  Though 14 hours and 1 minute was lost in disruption and forced adjournments, the members made up the business by sitting extra time of 30 hours and 45 minutes.  94% of the Budget demands were passed without discussions. 

20 Bills were introduced and 13 bills were passed. 61 Private Members bills were introduced.  388 matters were raised under Rule 377 by the members. During Zero Hour, 607 matters of urgent public important were taken up by members.  

We analyse the performance of Parliament and MPs based on four parameters, viz. (1) debates, (2) private members bills, (3) questions raised and (4) attendance.  

Ministers cannot participate in debates, introduce private bills and raise questions.  They also do not sign attendance.  Hence, our analysis excludes the Ministers.


During this two sessions, 443 members participated in 2475 debates, which includes, bills, matters taken up, etc.  National Average is 4.9 per member for debates.  Kerala MPs scored No 1 position with an average of 11.2 debates per member.  Andhra Pradesh MPs occupy the last position with 2.8 debates per member.

The top performers under debates category

P P Choudhary, BJP, Rajasthan - 39 debates
N K Premachandran, RSP, Kerala  - 30 debates

Private Members Bills

During these two sessions 61 Private Members Bills were introduced.  7 MPs have individually introduced 4 private members bills each.

BJP MPs - Hansraj G Ahir (Maharashtra), Arjun Ram Meghwal (Rajasthan), K P Solanki (Gujarat), AT Naha Patel (Maharashtra) and Nishikant Dubey (Jharkand)

BJP MP - Bhartruhari Mahtab (Odisha)

INC MP - M K Raghavan (Kerala)


During these two sessions, 8854 questions (starred, unstarred, supplementary) have been raised by the members.  National Average is 18 questions per member.  Kerala ranks No1 among the states with an average of 44 questions per member.  Uttarakand ranks last with 4 questions per member.

The top performers for raising questions.

Hansraj G Ahir (BJP, Maharashtra) - 115 Questions
Asaduddin Owaisi (AIMEI, Telangana) - 108 Questions
B V Nayak, (INC, Karnataka) - 105 Questions

Total Tally (Debates + Private Members Bills + Questions)

The following MPs have shown top performance for the total tally till the end of second session.

Hansraj G Ahir (BJP, Maharashtra) - Total tallly 129
Asasuddin Owaisi (AIMEI, Telangana) - Total tally 116
Nishikant Dubey (BJP, Jharkand) - Total tally 115


152 MPs have attended all the 33 sittings and scored 100% attendance. National average for attendance is 87% per member.  Tamil Nadu ranks No 1 with an average of 98% per member. J & K ranks last with 62% average.

Lady Members

There are 62 Female Members in this 16th Lok Sabha.  The toppers among the female members for the total tally are:

Supriya Sule (NC, Maharashtra) - Total tally 104
Shobha Karandlaje (BJP, Karnataka) - Total tally 98

Both have secured 100% attendance.

We congratulate all the top performers.  Since many of the MPs are new, it is quite natural that they may find it difficult to get ramiliarised with the Parliament procedures.  A real analysis can be done only after one year effectively.

Some interesting facts

1.  61 MPs have not participated in any of the proceedings of the Lok Sabha.  Their total tally is 'zero'.

2.  Actress Hemamalini (BJP, UP) with 'zero' tally has attended only 11% of the sittings.

The readers can find out the performance of their MPs from the following link.

Source: PRS Legislative Research, Delhi

Compiled by K. Srinivasan


Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...