Thursday, May 26, 2016

Sansad Ratna Awards 2016 - 7th Edition - Programme Schedule & Registration link

There is no participation fee.  Lunch and Tea will be provided.  But Registration is a MUST.  Since the hall capacity is only around 200, we will accommodate the registrations on 'First come, First served basis'.  Please share this registration link.  Interested may register immediately.  The detailed programme is given below.

Programme Schedule
Saturday the 11th June 2016
IC&SR Auditorium, IIT Madras

9.00 am

10.00 am
"Parliamentary Democracy at Global level - An overview"  - Dr Sudarshan Padmanabhan, Associate Professor, IIT Madras

10.30 am
"Indian Parliamentary system" - Shri B Srinivasa Prabhu, Director, Lok Sabha Secretariat, New Delhi

11.00 am
Tea Break

11.30 am
Presentation of Sansad Ratna Awards 2016 - 6 categories
(Debates, Private Members Bills, Questions, Women, First Time MP and Rajaya Sabha MP)

Presided by
Shri Anandrao Adsul (5th time MP) Sansad Maha Ratna Awardee of 15th Lok Sabha and Chairman of Selection Committee of Sansad Ratna Awards

Chief Guest:
Dr C Rangarajan, Former Governor of Andhra Pradesh and Former Governor of Reserve Bank of India

Guests of honour: (Sansad Maha Ratnas of 15th Lok Sabha)
Shri Hansraj G Ahir, Hon'ble Minister of State, Chemicals and Fertilisers, Government of India. (4th time MP)

Shri Arjun Ram Meghwal MP (Chief Whip of BJP), Second time MP

Key Note Address
Dr Bhaskar Ramamurthy, Director, IIT Madras

1.00 pm


2.00 pm
Panel Discussion I - Electoral Reforms

Shri T S Krishna Murthy (Former Chief Election Commissioner of India)
Shri T K Rangarajan MP (CPI M)
Shri Arjun Ram Meghwal MP (Chief Whip of BJP)

Anchor:  Shri Hariharan, Thanthi TV

3.00 pm

3.30 pm
Panel Discussion II - State Assembly - Challenges and Expectations  (in Tamil)

Dr C K Thamizharasan Ex MLA (Republican Party of India)
Shri K S Alagiri Ex MP & Ex MLA (Congress)
Shri A Soundararajan Ex MLA (CPIM)
Ms Bhanu Gomes (Social worker representing civil society)

Anchor:  Shri Hariharan, Thanthi TV

4.30 PM
National Anthem

For more details visit

Contact person: 
Shri S G Suryah (Mobile & Whatsapp 9894447177)

Sansad Ratna Awards 2016 - Rules for selection of Awardees

Sansad Ratna Awards 2016
(7th Edition)
Selection of Award winners - Rules

There are five Awards for Lok Sabha and one Award for Rajya Sabha.:


Lok Sabha:
1.  Topper in Debates (only original works)
2.  Topper in Private Members Bills
3.  Topper in Questions
4.  Topper among women MPs for overall tally
5.  Topper among the first time MPs for overall tally
6.  Topper among the 2015 Rajya Sabha retiree

Rajya Sabha
1.  Topper among the retirees who have completed 6 years retired in 2015 for total tally.  (No other additional parameters)

Other additional parameters

For Lok Sabha only (excepting for women category)
In addition to being the topper, they should comply with the following conditions.

1.  70% attendance in the House
2.  70% attendance in the Committee Meetings(at least two)
3.  50% spend in the MPLAD as available in the site
4.  Should be within the top 10 for overall tally.

Stages in the selection process

1.   Nomination based on the eligibility of the above parameters by the selection committee for Award.
2.     Nominees will be informed confidentially by the Commitee.
3.   Acceptance of the nomination and receiving the Award at Chennai during the function.  Announcement of the Awardees will be made only after the nominees accept the Award personally. 

For performance data:  PRS India site (A separate data sheet received excluding the associated matters. that will be uploaded by us for reference)

For Committee Meetings:


Awards instituted by Prime Point Foundation and eMagazine PreSense

Selection Committee Judges

Sansad Maha Ratna Awardees of 15th Lok Sabha

Shri Anandrao Adsul MP - Chairman
Shri Hansraj G Ahir , Hon'ble MOS
Shri Arjun Ram Meghwal MP

Sunday, May 8, 2016

Lok Sabha Speaker Smt. Sumitra Mahajan briefed about Sansad Ratna Awards

Prime Point Srinivasan (centre) hands over the 100th edition of ezine PreSense to Smt. Sumitra Mahajan (left).  Shri Arjun Ram Meghwal MP (right) looks on
Prime Point Srinivasan (centre) hands over the 100th edition of ezine PreSense to Smt. Sumitra Mahajan (left).  Shri Arjun Ram Meghwal MP (right) looks on
On 4th May 2016 evening I met Hon'ble Speaker of the Lok Sabha Smt Sumitra Mahajan and briefed her about the sansad ratna awards. She was quite receptive and appreciated the initiative. I also told her as to how Dr Abdul Kalam was showing keen interest in recognising outstanding Parliamentarians. I presented her the book 'Manifesto for Change' authored by Dr Kalam and Ponraj Vellaichamy who have devoted one full chapter for our sansad ratna awards.

I shared with her some of our concerns about the quality of discussions in the Parliament. I gave the complete analysis of the performance of top 10 performers till the end of Part I of Budget Session 2016, based on the data provided by PRS Legislative Research.
I appreciated the firmness with which she conducts the House particularly during question hour and zero hour without allowing disruption.
I presented her the 100th edition of our e-zine PreSense. Shri Arjun Ram Meghwal, MP Bikaner (Rajasthan), one of the Sansad Maha Ratna Awardees and one of the judges for the selection of awardees of 16th Lok Sabha helped us to meet Madam Speaker and he was also present.

She also explained to me the initiative taken by her to educate the MPs with more knowledge through research, so that they participate more effectively in discussions.
She appreciated our Sansad Ratna initiative and extended her full support. I told her that Sansad Ratna Award is an initiative from the civil society, strictly based on the performance parameters.
During our discussion, Smt Sumitra Mahajan was quite receptive and keen about getting my views and sharing her views, in spite of the fact that we could meet her at 7 pm in the midst of her tense schedules.

- By Prime Point Srinivasan, President, Sansad Ratna Awards Committee.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...