Tuesday, April 10, 2012

Four MPs to be honoured with 'Sansad Ratna' Award

Prime Point Foundation at the close of first part of the Budget Session every year honours the Members of Lok Sabha for their outstanding performance.  Mainly, the Members are assessed based on their (a) asking questions, (b) participation in debates, including raising important  issues under Rule 377. 193, Zero hour discussions, etc., (c ) introduction of private members bills and (d) attendance.  

Based on the data and information released by Lok Sabha, PRS Legislative Research has released the performance data as on 30th March 2012.   Based on the data, Prime Point Foundation will be honouring the following 4 MPs with Sansad Ratna Award,  for their outstanding performance in the Lok Sabha till the end of 30th March 2012 (Part I of X Session).

Mr Anand Rao Adsul :  Shiv Sena MP from Amravati, Maharashtra.  He stands No 1 for the Questions asked in the Lok Sabha.  He has asked 754 Questions.  Besides, he has also participated in 27 times in various Debates.  He has also introduced 3 Private Members Bills.   The total tally is 784.

Mr Hansraj Gangaram Ahir BJP MP from Chandrapur, Maharashtra.  During this 15th Lok Sabha, he has introduced 20 Private Members Bills and stands No 1 under this category.  He has also asked 658 Questions and participated in 77 Debates.  His total tally is 755.

Mr Arjun Ram Meghwal: BJP MP from Bikaner, Rajasthan.  He has participated 251 times in debates and stands No 1 under this category.  Besides, he has also asked 389 Questions and introduced 13 Private Members Bills.  He has attended 100% of all the sittings upto X Session.  He stands No 1 under this category also.  His total tally is 653.

Mr S S Ramasubbu: Cong MP from Tirunelveli, Tamilnadu.  He stands No 3 in the overall tally for the entire Lok Sabha and also No 1 among Tamilnadu MPs.  Till 30th March 2012, he has participated in 99 debates, asked 643 questions.  The total tally is 742.  He has also attended 97% of the sittings.

Mr Gopalkrishna Gandhi (Former Governor of West Bengal Government), Mr Era Sezhiyan (Veteran Parliamentarian) and Dr Bhaskar Ramamurthy (Director of IIT) will be honouring these MPs at IC&SR Auditorium, Indian Institute of Technology, Madras on Saturday the 14th April 2012.  This event coincides with Dr Ambedkar Jayanthi, the architect of Indian Constitution.

Besides the Award function,  Prime Point Foundation  jointly with Humanities and Social Science Dept. of IIT-M has planned two panel discussions.  The theme of the first panel discussion is 'Youth in Politics and Governance - Challenges and Opportunities'.  The top performing MPs will be in the panel and share the views.

In the evening, another panel discussion on the theme 'Youth in Politics and Governance - Role of Civil Society' will be held with all new generation women panelists.  This panel will discuss about the role of educational institutions, media and NGOs in creating awareness about this among the youth.  

The purpose of this Award function and the seminar is to motivate the youngsters to get awareness about our democracy and to  involve themselves in the governance and policy making process.

For more details contact prpoint@gmail.com


Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...