Wednesday, March 15, 2017

Sansad Ratna 2017 - Jury Committee Meeting held at Delhi on 14th March 2017

(L to R) Shri Anandrao Adsul, Shri Arjun Ram Meghwal, Shri Hansraj G Ahir, Shri Bhawanesh Deora (Secretary, Sansad Ratna Awards Committee) and Prime Point Srinivasan (Editor in Chief, PreSense)
The 8th Edition of Sansad Ratna Awards will be held on Saturday, 27th May 2017 at IIT Madras.   Hon’ble Justice (Retd) Shri Sathasivam, Governor of Kerala will be the Chief Guest.  Hon’ble Union Ministers Shri Hansraj G Ahir, Shri Arjun Ram Meghwal and Shri P P Chaudhary, Sansad Ratna Award winners in the previous years will be the Guests of Honour.  Shri Anandrao Adsul, Chairman of the Jury Committee and the Chairman of the Parliamentary Board of Shiv Sena will preside over the event. This Award is also one of the initiatives of the ezine PreSense. 

Shri Anandrao Adsul, Shri Hansraj Ahir and Shri Arjun Ram Meghwal, the Members of the Jury Committee met at Delhi on 14th March 2017 (picture above) to frame the rules for Sansad Ratna 2017 Awards.  There will be 8 Awards under 7 categories for sitting Lok Sabha Members and 3 Awards for the Rajya Sabha Members who retired in 2016. The winners will be decided based on the performance till the end of Budget Session 2017. 

Please keeping visiting this site frequentlyto get all updates.

Tuesday, March 7, 2017

Analysis of performance of MPs group-wise till the end of Part I of Budget Session 2017 - Interesting facts

We furnish below an analysis of the performance of our Lok Sabha Members up to the end of Part I one of Budget Session 2017.  The data relates to the period from 1st June 2014 to 9th February 2017.   The second part of Budget Session starts on 9th March 2017.  Hence, we are releasing this analysis now so that the Members may improve their performance further.  

Sansad Ratna Team has analysed the performance state-wise, party-wise, gender-wise , term-wiseand agegroup-wise. Please go through the interesting facts.

State-wise performance:

Among the bigger states, Maharashtra and Kerala have done well.  West Bengal with 45 Members has shown a bad performance. 

Political pary-wise performance:

Among the political parties, Shiv Sena and Nationalist Congress Party have shown good performance.   In spite of having 37 members, Trinamool Congress has shown the bad performance.  

Gender-wise and Age-wise performance

Uniformly women members have shown good performance matching with their male colleagues, though they have only 61 members.  The members in the age group of 45 to 54 have shown good performance closely followed by younger members.  

Term-wise performance

Third term and second term members have shown good performance.  More than 300 members are first term MPs.  

For the purpose of analysis, we have not taken into account the Ministers, who are not eligible to participate in debates and raise questions.

Data source: PRS India

By K. Srinivasan, Editor in Chief, PreSense

Friday, March 3, 2017

Sansad Ratna Awards 2017 - Rules for Selection Process

The eighth Edition of Sansad Ratna Awards will be presented to outstanding Parliamentarians at Chennai on Saturday, 27th May 2017 at IIT, Madras.  The Awards are instituted by this ezine PreSense and Prime Point Foundation. There are five categories of Awards for Lok Sabha and two Awards for Rajya Sabha.:

Award Categories

1.  Topper in Debates (only original initiated debates) – Lok Sabha
2.  Topper in Private Members Bills – Lok Sabha
3.  Topper in Questions – Lok Sabha
4.  Topper among women MPs for overall tally – Lok Sabha
5.  Topper among the first time MPs for overall tally – Lok Sabha
6.  Toppers among the 2016 Rajya Sabha retirees
     (one overall topper and one topper among women retiree MPs)

Other Additional Parameters

Lok Sabha Members

In addition to being topper, they should comply with the following conditions:
1.  70% attendance in the House
2.  70% attendance in the Committee Meetings (at least two Committees)
3.  50% spend in the MPLAD (as recorded in the website)
4.  Should be within the top 10 for overall tally (except for the Women category)

Rajya Sabha Members

1.    Topper among the retirees, who have completed 6 years and retired in 2016, for total tally:
(Debates + Private Members Bills + Questions).  No other additional parameters.
Stages in the Selection Process

  1.  Nominations will be examined by the Selection Committee for Awards, based on the above parameters.
  2.  Nominees will be informed confidentially by the Committee.
  3.  Acceptance of the nomination and receiving the Award at Chennai during the function.
  4. Announcement of the Awardees will be made only after the nominees acknowledge and accept the Award personally. If the nominees do not acknowledge and accept the Award, the next qualifying nominee will be selected.


For performance data:  PRS India site (A separate data sheet, excluding the associated matters, received from PRS India, will be uploaded by us for reference)

For Committee Meetings:


Jury Committee for Selection of Award Winners (Sansad Maha Ratna Awardees of 15th Lok Sabha)

Shri Anandrao Adsul MP - Chairman
Shri Hansraj G Ahir , Hon'ble MOS (Home)
Shri Arjun Ram Meghwal, Hon MOS (Finance & CA)

(The Jury Committee has the right to modify/amend/relax any eligibility condition depending on the other parameters.  The decision of Jury Committee is final)

We will be posting updates on the website
For more details mail to

Budget Session 2017 (Part I) – An Analysis

The first Part of the Budget Session 2017 (11th Session of the 16th Lok Sabha) commenced on 31st January 2017 with a Parliamentary address by the President of India.  After sitting for 8 days, the first part concluded on 9th February 2017.  For the first time in India, the Union Budget was presented on 1st February 2017, instead of the earlier 28th February. For the first time again, the Railway Budget was presented as part of the Union Budget. 

During the first part of Budget Session 2017, Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha functioned for 33.8 hours and 26.6 hours respectively.  Lok Sabha recorded a productivity of 105% and Rajya Sabha 89%.

The second part of the Budget Session 2017 will commence on 9th March 2017 and conclude on 12th April 2017.

The following Members of Lok Sabha are the toppers for the overall tally (Debates + Private Members Bills + Questions) for the period from 1st June 2014 to 9th February 2017.

Private Members Bills
Shrirang Appa Barne
(SS, Maharashtra)
Supriya Sule
(NCP, Maharashtra)
Dhananjay Bhimrao Mahadik
(NCP, Maharashtra)
* Only initiated debates are considered. Associated debates not included.

Interestingly, at this stage, all the three toppers are from Maharashtra. PreSense congratulates the top performers. 

By K. Srinivasan, Editor in Chief

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...